Secure SDLC Secure Software Development Life Cycle

Secure SDLC is focused on how the application is designed and built; DevSecOps seeks to shift ownership of the production environment for each application away from traditional IT teams and into the hands of the developers. This lets developers system development phase focus on automating build, test, and release processes as much as possible. Doing so helps development teams properly plan releases, making it easier to catch and address issues that arise that could affect the release timeline.

system development phase

The essential difference between them is related to the frequency of SDLC phases and interactions between stages with the possible addition of short cycles to repeat several times within one phase. One of the answers could be to simplify the overall process by breaking it into chunks or phases, where the range of tasks shortens while development team members’ engagement and clarity grow. As a result of such attempts, the System Development Life Cycles (SDLC) framework was born.

Phase 4: Coding

Primarily, the AUKUS deal, agreed in 2021, covers submarine construction, basing and operation, but a second element of the deal also includes a range of separate high-tech weapons. By consenting to receive communications, you agree to the use of your data as described in our privacy policy.

The development team gets familiar with the DDS and starts working on the code. Typically, this step is the most time-consuming phase of SDLC, so we recommend using agile methodologies to speed up coding. While SSDLC and DevSecOps are closely linked, they are actually complementary practices. Both SSDLC and DevSecOps focus on empowering developers to have more ownership of their application, ensuring they are doing more than just writing and testing their code to meet functional specifications. When it’s time to actually implement the design and make it a reality, concerns usually shift to making sure the code well-written from the security perspective.

Business and Operational Requirements Specifications

System development life cycles consist of six basic phases often repeated within each new project. However, some experienced developers insist that SDLC is an abstraction describing the stages required for software development and the interaction between those phases. Let’s take a close look at every typical phase of an average software development life cycle. SSDLC allows you to shift security risks left, addressing the origin of security issues at the requirements phase instead of having to backtrack from the maintenance phase. By focusing on security at every stage of development, you can rest assured your application will be far more secure as a result.

DevOps is a set of practices and philosophies that combines software development and IT operations. This practice takes SDLC concepts to the next level by introducing high levels of automation and focusing on smaller software releases. Unlike the iterative incremental model, an agile SDLC does not rush the team to deploy the product to customers. Instead, the emphasis is on finding the balance between quality and speed. Unlike the spiral SDLC methodology (which is similar in concept), the iterative incremental model deploys each software version to production.

Software vs. System Development Life Cycle

The system development life cycle (SDLC) is a formal way of ensuring that adequate security controls and requirements are implemented in a new system or application. Every phase of the SDLC is crucial to the success of any information system. This structure is the final product of years of research, and this approach will likely continue to improve with time. Individual phases of the application development life cycle help improve the chances of a project being successful.

  • It will not just prevent confusion, but it also enables you to brace yourself mentally for the responsibilities at hand.
  • The System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) provides a well-structured framework that gives an idea, of how to build a system.
  • To achieve a scalable, reliable, and highly secure solution, Metroscope chose to run its platform on Microsoft Azure technology.
  • Instead, it’s important to drive cultural and process changes that help raise security awareness and considerations early in the development process.
  • This is most certainly preferable to receiving an unpleasant surprise once the application deploys to production.
  • The final phase of the SDLC is to measure the effectiveness of the system and evaluate potential enhancements.

Unfortunately, this meant that any potential vulnerabilities would be “out in the wild” for attackers to exploit for a number of weeks or even months before they could be noticed and addressed. As a result, most companies have since chosen to supplement production testing with pre-release security testing as well. This supplemental testing was placed on the critical path of the release, and applications needed to pass the security check prior to deploying the code to production. In software development, you never go straight from an idea to programming.


The days of releasing a product into the wild and addressing bugs in subsequent patches are gone. Developers now need to be cognizant of potential security concerns at each step of the process. This requires integrating security into your SDLC in ways that were not needed before.

system development phase

In many cases, developers are the only ones responsible for figuring out requirements, writing code, and checking the validity of a finished product. The agile approach requires the team to perform testing at the end of each sprint to ensure no potential exploits end up in production. The iterative incremental model requires the team to quickly deploy an incomplete version of the software at the end of each development cycle. Jumping into software development without a pre-defined plan is a recipe for overbudgeting, delays, and costly failures.

Phase 2: Design

Security teams should participate in the post-implementation review to confirm that the security capabilities deployed are satisfactory. At this time, the documentation of all security decisions made in support of the system or application is finalized and variances to the existing security policies and standards are noted. Where variances are permitted on a temporary basis, tracking is initiated to ensure that variances are resolved in accordance with an agreed-upon schedule.

system development phase

This stage includes the development of detailed designs that brings initial design work into a completed form of specifications. This work includes the specification of interfaces between the system and its intended environment, and a comprehensive evaluation of the systems logistical, maintenance and support requirements. The detail design and development is responsible for producing the product, process and material specifications and may result in substantial changes to the development specification. SDLC methodologies fit within a flexibility spectrum ranging from agile to iterative to sequential. Once the requirement analysis phase is completed the next sdlc step is to define and document software needs. This process conducted with the help of ‘Software Requirement Specification’ document also known as ‘SRS’ document.

What Is the Secure SDLC (Software Development Life Cycle)?

Some severe defects require updates in the design stage, while most problems take the app back to the development stage. The exact number and nature of steps depend on the business and its product goals. On average, most companies define SDLCs with five to seven phases, although more complex projects reach ten or more stages.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *